I’ve come up with the perfect entrepreneurial idea in the whole world. Someone needs to start selling individual pieces of gum to people by the Gum Wall in Seattle. I can’t remember if I thought of this (probably not), or if one of my brothers did (this is the definitely the more likely probability), so I can’t take all the credit.  The idea came to us while we were admiring people’s chewed gum stuck to a wall and I was yelling at Chay for spitting out his gum literally 2 minutes before because I wanted a picture of him putting it on the wall. Anyways, we were fighting about his incompetence and we couldn’t find any gum in our bags or being sold anywhere near where we were. So–future business professionals out there–go and sell gum by the Gum Wall in Seattle. You will make a TON of money!

Chay posing for me after we couldn't find any gum.
Chay posing for me after we couldn’t find any gum.
Look at the texture. It's kinda beautiful, isn't it? Or am I alone in think this?
Look at the texture. It’s kinda beautiful, isn’t it? Or am I alone in think this?

Anyways, sorry about that little tangent! I meant to be talking about my trip to Seattle. My mom, dad, little brother, and I flew out the Washington to visit one of my triplet brothers who goes to Seattle University. It was the first time I’ve been to the Pacific Northwest and I think I can say with confidence that it is the most beautiful place I’ve ever been too. I’m one of those rare people who enjoy a good overcast day and some rain, so I have the feeling that I would love living there. It was so green, the weather was perfect (warm but with a little nip of Autumn and the smell of rain), and I loved every minute of our visit.

We had quite a busy weekend. We went to the Pike Place Market where we saw the famous Gum Wall Alley and watched men in full Deadliest Catch outfits throw fish around. I was actually shocked at how much gum was stuck to the walls of this little corner alley. It was disgustingly fascinating. Of course, being in nursing I automatically thought about all the communicable diseases that could be lingering on the pieces of gum and refused to go anywhere near touching the wall, but it was so interesting to see what kinds of weird, beautiful art human beings can create together. The market itself was a whirlwind. There were so many people packed together, trying to get through the small isles that it was slightly chaotic, but everything about it was wonderful. There were vendors selling the most beautiful bouquets of flowers for as cheap as $5, people selling jewelry, pasta, fruit, you name it.

fresh produce

fresh seafood

Restocking

My favorite stop we made in the market was something Chay said we had to try. It was this small little greek yogurt shop on a corner between a produce stand and an oriental souvenir shop and my god it was heavenI got a cup of ginger and raspberry yogurt and I can honestly say that if they sold that at supermarkets, I would never buy ice cream again and go straight for this bowl of yum. 10/10 would recommend.

This is my dad's yogurt. He got a Blackberry Cheesecake yogurt and said it was just as yummy as the ginger raspberry on that I got.
This is my dad’s yogurt. He got a Blackberry Cheesecake yogurt and said it was just as yummy as the ginger raspberry on that I got.
This was my Ginger Raspberry Yogurt. You can see the fresh raspberries they mix in. It's sooooo creamy and like velvet in your mouth! Go check out http://ellenos.com/ if you guy want more information.
This was my Ginger Raspberry Yogurt. You can see the fresh raspberries they mix in. It’s sooooo creamy and like velvet in your mouth! Go check out http://ellenos.com/ if you guy want more information.

We also went to watch my brother run in his Cross Country race and he did amazing! I’m so proud of him. He is running in the WAC Cross Country Race on Halloween, so wish him good luck!

Chay's XC race
http://www.goseattleu.com/SportSelect.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=18200&SPID=10770&SPSID=89889&DB_OEM_ID=18200

We went on an underground tour of Seattle and learned all about “seamstresses” (aka: ladies of the night) who ended up making the 3rd most profit of any career in the early history of the city (which is so badass). It was super interesting going into the hidden tunnels under the city and see all this things from the past that not everyone sees.

Overall, I had a wonderful trip and would suggest you visit Seattle immediately! Go check you Seattle University too and cheer on their Cross Country team!

Happy Friday!

xx,
ally renee

One thought on “Seattle Visit

What did you think?

