So Thanksgiving has passed and so I’m sure you all know what that means. Yes, it’s officially the Christmas season which means Christmas Music. If you know me, I’m sure you’re yelling at your screen “but Ally, you’ve been listening to Christmas music since July” and yes, that’s true, but now it’s acceptable to listen to Christmas music and I’ve taken full advantage of this fact.

Ok, so where am I going with this? Well, since I’m in the Christmas spirit, I thought I’d let you all in on a little secret family recipe for the best Caramel Corn you’ve ever had. It’s perfect for gifts, or holiday parties, or if you’re like me you can just eat it whilst working on the ridiculous amounts of homework that you have over Thanksgiving break (which is so rude, who gives homework over Thanksgiving Break). 

Anyways, here it is!


 

SONY DSC

Doris Bell’s Oven Caramel Corn

  • 2 cups Brown Sugar
  • 1 cup Butter
  • 1/2 cup Karo Syrup
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • plain, unpopped corn kernels (enough to make 2 gallons)

 

Ok, let’s get started!

Cook the first 4 ingredients (Brown Sugar, Butter, Karo Syrup, and Salt) until boiling. Boil for 5 minutes. Remove from the heat; stir in the Baking Soda. Pour over the popped corn. Put in a 200 degree (Fahrenheit) oven for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

Then you Enjoy!


SONY DSC

SONY DSC
Combine, mix, and bring to a boil
SONY DSC
Corn Kernels
SONY DSC
Popped Corn
SONY DSC
Hot caramel, add Baking Soda
SONY DSC
Pour over Popped Corn
SONY DSC
Mix it all together and bake

Hope you guys enjoy this wonderful treat and I hope it makes you as excited for Christmas as I am!

Happy Friday!

xx,
ally renee

 

One thought on “Grandma’s Caramel Corn

What did you think?

