For the last 20 years of my life I’ve hated breakfast. Yes, I know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day but I’ve never really enjoyed it. Breakfast takes a lot of effort and honestly I’d rather spend those 20 minutes sleeping than frying up some eggs that I’m not even going to enjoy eating. But guys–my life changed the minute I learned about smoothie bowls.

I’m not sure how long they have been around, but I regret every minute I didn’t know they existed. I never knew I needed something like this in my life until I found it. Smoothie Bowls are exactly what they say they are–smoothies in a bowl. The concept is simple enough…just put a smoothie in a bowl and add a bunch of yummy stuff to top it off, but these delicious bowls have honestly made me fall in love with a meal that I’ve always hated.

Not only are they easy but they taste like heaven and are healthy AF. And, there are hundreds of different recipes so you can’t get bored or run out of new, refreshing breakfast options. How amazing is that!?

Here are some of the Smoothie Bowls I’ve made recently but I’ll put a link at the bottom of some of the recipes that I’m itching to try in the future!


 

The Berry Smoothie Bowl that Changed Everything

berry smoothie bowl

You will need:

  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries
    • mine had a mixture of blackberries, strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries
  • 1 single serve container plain Greek Yogurt
    • you can use whatever  kind of yogurt you want, really. I just like the greek yogurt to get some extra protein
  • 1 banana, sliced
    • 3/4 go in the smoothie and cut the other 1/4 to put on top
  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 2 Tbsp. chia seeds
    • chia seeds are a great source of fiber!
  • A few fresh blueberries
  • A sprinkling of coconut shavings
  • A smidge of walnuts

berry smoothie bowl|close up

Let’s do this:

  1. Add the berries, yogurt, banana, and almond milk together and blend.
  2. Dump that’s beautiful blend of yumminess into a bowl.
  3. Garnish with Chia seeds, blueberries, Coconut, and walnuts.
    1. You can also top your smoothie off with some fresh strawberries, granola, or breakfast cereal if you really want to add some color and texture to the bowl! Pretty much anything works so get creative!
  4. DIG IN

Morning Mango Madness

mango smoothie bowl

You will need:

  • 1 cup frozen mango, chunks
  • 1 large banana, sliced
  • 1 single serve container Strawberry Greek Yogurt
  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 2 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • A sprinkle coconut
  • A dash of almond shavings
    • The almonds add a wonderful crunch!

mango smoothie bowl|close up

Let’s do this:

  1. Throw the mango chunks, yogurt, and milk into a blender and whirl it all together!
  2. Top with the coconut, chia seeds, and almonds.
  3. Enjoy!

The Cheeky Chocolate Peanut Butter Blend

chocolate smoothie bowl
I know this looks a lot like the mango one, but I promise it’s not! (look at the bowl if you don’t believe me)

You will need:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 large banana, sliced
  • 1 cup ice
  • 2 Tbsp. peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • ¼ tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • A sprinkle of coconut
  • Some nuts of your choice…I just like almonds but peanuts would be great here too!

chocolate smoothie bowl|close up

Let’s do this:

  1. Blend the almond milk, ½ the banana, ice, peanut butter, cocoa powder, vanilla extract until nice and smooooooooth.
  2. Garnish which whatever the heck you want
  3. Make it look pretty
  4. Take an instagram pic.
  5. Enjoy!

Here are some more recipes that I’m looking forward to trying! I love smoothies because not only are the super easy but you can pretty much make any recipe your own by adding or taking away anything you want! Buzzfeed even has an amazing article on it as well!

Mango Bowl  —  Pitaya Bowl Recipe —  Green Smoothie Bowl

Let me know what smoothie is your go-to morning pick-me-up! And if anyone knows a recipe that infuses caffeine into these smoothies, please hit me up! I’m always looking for ways to not drink my weight in coffee or tea everyday.

Happy Friday!


ally renee

logo_b

4 thoughts on “The Smoothie Bowls that Made Me Love Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Be Boulder

What did you think?

