I’m not sure what sparked my craving for lemons, but I think I’ve narrowed it down to the somewhat odd association I have between summer and lemons. Maybe it’s the lemonade? Regardless, I’ve been thinking about making Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins for WEEKS. It wasn’t until now that I finally got off my butt and did it! And by did it, I mean I went out and bought a box of Lemon Poppy Seed Muffin Mix.

Now, before you run away screaming because these muffins aren’t made from scratch, I’d like to defend myself by saying that I have no idea where to find plain poppy seeds. I looked! I promise I did! Maybe not super hard because my brother was annoyed with me for standing in the baking aisle for more than 20 seconds, but I promise I couldn’t find any poppy seeds that were on their own. So I went the boxed muffin route. And honestly, it saved me a lot of the time and effort it takes to bake a good muffin! That’s what I call a win-win!

Bravo to the boxed muffin! Every college girl’s dream! A cheap, easy recipe! Hip! Hip! Hurray!

Ok, enough of that! Let’s get down to the details!


SONY DSC
You will need:


SONY DSC
Let’s do this:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F (190 C)
  2. Dump all the contents of the Poppy Seed Mix into a bowl
  3. zest 2-3 lemons into the mixture
  4. Have your best friend crack 2 eggs into the bowl with the Mix (thanks Nicole…couldn’t have done it without you)
  5. Plop out the greek yogurt into the mix too
  6. Add the oil as well!
  7. Mix up the mix (lol) until it looks like a batter, tastes like a batter, and smells like heaven.
  8. Scoop it out and distribute it evenly (or if you’re like me, distribute it completely unevenly) into 12 muffin tins
  9.  Pop it in the oven for 15-20 minutes (mine only needed 15 minutes)
  10. Optional: drizzle some glaze over the top to add something sweet to match the sour!

PRO TIP: my muffins turned out a little dry, so I would suggest adding a little bit of lemon juice or some more oil to the recipe to make them taste a touch more lemon-y and be a little less crumbly.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC


Look! See! Boxed muffin mixes can turn out great! My brother and friends seemed to like them so try them out with your family and friends and see what they think! You can’t honestly go wrong with a good muffin and a glass of cold lemonade during the summer heat!

As always, thanks for keeping stopping by!

Happy Saturday,

xx,
ally renee

_0001s_0008_Layer-14 _0001s_0008_Layer-13 _0001s_0005_twitter _0001s_0007_Layer-16_0001s_0000_mail

 

 


Baking song of the week (idk…I’ve just been digging this song right now):

2 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

What did you think?

